Provided you have installed any of the NoMachine server products, the Server settings are accessible from the Machines panel. The Server settings handle what happens when users connect to the computer on which it is installed. Open NoMachine from the system's Programs/Applications menu, via any connection shortcut that you have on your desktop or via the NoMachine !M in the system tray. Upon opening up the UI, make sure you are on the Machines panel and click 'Settings'. Then select 'Server'.
Fig. 8 - Click Settings > Server
Indicates what IP address to use in order to connect to this computer
Shows the current status of NoMachine server. You can restart, stop or shutdown the server. When choosing to shutdown the server you will be requested if the server has to be automatically restarted when rebooting. You can also access the Server Status from the NoMachine monitor in the system tray.
No connected users - if another NoMachine user connects to the computer it will be shown here.
No active transfers - if any transfers are ongoing they will be shown here.
Fig. 9a - Server settings > Status
Fig. 9b - How to access Server Status from the monitor
Lists all the services in use and on what port the service is listening. To modify a service and its port, highlight the item and click 'Configure' .
Start automatic services at startup
If checked (enabled by default), the services present in the list will automatically start at every computer boot.
Advertize this computer on the network
Enabled by default. Enable in order for the computer to show up in other users' connection lists when on LAN. Other users will see this computer provided they have not checked the box 'Don't show other computers on the network' (fig. 6). Disabling will stop the broadcast of computer's availability on LAN.
Fig. 10 - Server settings > Ports
In Security you can configure how you (and other users) can interact with your remote desktop.
Require permission to let remote users connect
Enabled by default. If someone is trying to connect to your desktop, a pop up message asking for your permission appears. If the computer is unattended, this option should be turned off.
Require permission to let remote users interact with the desktop
Disabled by default. Checking the box means that users will connect in view only mode. Interaction can be enabled at a later time by the owner.
Hide the NoMachine (!M) icon in the system tray
Disabled by default. Checking the box stops the !M icon from being displayed. Notifications will still be shown.
Use sound notifications when there is an event
If a user connects or requests to connect to the desktop, or a user disconnects, a sound will be emitted.
Blank the physical screen when somebody connects
Check the box to enable screen blanking and block mouse and keyboard input. Useful for unattended remote computers to p event others from entering data or viewing the monitor while you are remotely accessing it.
Lock the physical screen when somebody connects
This option can be used in conjuction with the screen blanking: even when the last user didn't lock the screen before disconnecting by NoMachine, as soon as the screen is unblanked the system lock screen will be activated automatically to keep the remote desktop protected even if the computer is running unattended. Useful for unattended remote computers to prevent others from entering data or viewing the monitor while you are remotely accessing it.
Configure whether connecting clients are allowed to upload and download files from the computer, set any size limitations and specify the location where files must be saved. Connecting client must have the 'Allow others to send you a file' box checked (see fig. 5).
Allow clients to upload files - enabled by default, it ensures that others connecting to this computer can send files to the server.
Allow clients to download files - enabled by default, it allows users connected to this computer to download files from the server.
Fig. 11a - Server settings > Security
Fig. 11b - Security > File transfers
Choose to allow specific devices (printers, scanners, disks and more) to be shared to the connecting client, including audio and microphone, useful when VOIP application is being used.
Fig. 12 - Enable which devices you want to make available on the remote desktop
In the majority of cases, it won't be necessary to interfere with these settings since NoMachine will carry out the necessary checks and optimizations to give the best possible performance. The encoding method depends also on the decoding capabilities of the client. If the client supports H.264 decoding (by means of the hardware or by codec libraries), then H.264 will be chosen, otherwise VP8 encoding is always used. MJPEG won't be used unless it is explicitly requested.
Use a specific display encoding
Configure a specific type of encoding (server side), choosing from H.264, VP8 and MJPEG.
There are some cases where MJPEG might be more suitable such as when accessing a less powerful computer (legacy PC or computer with reduced CPU and RAM specifications). Selecting MJPEG will consume more bandwidth.
Request a specific frame rate
Select the frames-per-second that you prefer. Higher is recommended for activity such as game-playing.
Use acceleration for display processing
Applicable to Windows only with support for DirectX (OpenGL on Mac and Linux coming soon). If enabled the remote Windows server/host being accessed will capture the screen content using DirectX.
Fig. 13 - System performance
Here you will find information about the product installed and the license validity (if applicable). Additionally, enable automatic software updates. Leave unchecked if you prefer to do it manually. Updates are set by default to check NoMachine respositories every 2 days. You can override this by clicking 'Check now'.
Fig. 14 - Updates
At the bottom of the UI,when there is a server installed, there is a small icon which controls fast track access to the desktop sharing functionality. When 'on', connections to that desktop are on. When 'off', it's not possible to connect to that desktop. If the computer is your own and you need to access it remotely, it's advisable to keep turned on.
Fig. 15 - Desktop shared - 'On'
Fig. 16 - Desktop not shared - 'Off'