Trouble remotely accessing Linux from Windows

Forum / NoMachine for Linux / Trouble remotely accessing Linux from Windows

Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Author
    David4321
    Participant

My desktop at home is Zorin 9 (Ubuntu variant, KDE desktop) and my travelling laptop is Windows 7. I want full remote desktop access to the Zorin system from the Windows laptop. NoMachine 4.5.0 for Linux, 4.4.6 for Windows.

I’m completely new to trying this. I’m fairly advanced at Windows, and have been using Zorin daily for 6 months, it’s my first Linux system.

After some searching I chose NoMachine as my client. I need quick real time responsiveness, directory access and file transfer, and I need to run applications on the Zorin from the Windows machine.

I really need a step-by-step. Here are some questions:

1) When I open NoMachine on Zorin, I see two ip addresses, one local and one remote. Both are nx://

I created a connection using the local Zorin address (without the nx://) on Windows side, and this works perfectly with both systems on local LAN.

Then I created another connection for remote access. When I take Windows off the WiFi (LAN) and put it on my phone hotspot to test remote connection, I get “Error is 11001: Host not found”

I have tried editing remote connection to include the nx://, and to include and exclude the 5 digits after the colon in the remote ip, and same result.

What have I got wrong, and how can I get remote connection?

Thanks for any help!

Britgirl
    Participant

Hi,

that error can come up when there has been a misspelling in the IP address. For example, 10.0.0.1;111 instead of 10.0.0.1:111. Are you able to check in the client logs, so that we know for sure what IP you inserted?

https://www.nomachine.com/DT04M00076#6

David4321
    Participant

Here’s the log.

David4321
    Participant