Customer ID

Password

 
 
 

NoMachine Support

Your questions answered

Disabling access to your local desktop

Access to the desktop can be disabled in just one click without stopping existing connections. If you are working on your desktop locally and don’t want to be disturbed by incoming requests from other NoMachine users who wish to connect to your computer, you can disable access to your desktop in just one click. Here’s how:

  • Click on the !M icon (the "Monitor") in your system tray.
  • 'Desktop shared’ shows that connections to the computer from remote are enabled (Fig. 1). Click ‘Desktop shared’ to disable access to your desktop. The !M Monitor icon will be greyed out and no further connections will be allowed (Fig. 2)
The !M icon is the Monitor to let you manage the NoMachine remote desktop service

Fig. 1a - Click on ‘Desktop shared’

The !M icon is the Monitor to let you manage the NoMachine remote desktop service

Fig. 1b - Select ‘Desktop not shared’ to disable new connections to your desktop

A greyed out !M icon shows access to that desktop is not available

Fig. 2 - The little !M icon will be greyed out to show that access is disabled

     

  • If you wish to accept new connections again, click on the greyed out !M icon and click on ‘Desktop not shared’ (Fig. 3).
Switch off the service to disable remote access to that computer

Fig. 3a - Click on ‘Desktop not shared’

Switch on the service to enable remote access to that computer

Fig. 3b - Select ‘Desktop shared’ to re-enable connections to your desktop